Martin Guptill said was lucky enough to get a direct hit from there on MS Dhoni’s dismissal
Cricket is a cruel game, and a couple of inches here and there are good enough to rule any team out of the competition. That’s what happened with India as they were out of the World Cup in a close Semi-Final game with New Zealand. India’s former skipper and renowned finisher MS Dhoni was run out by Martin Guptill throw from the deep in the semi-final of the ICC World Cup that turned India’s hope into despair.
WHAT A MOMENT OF BRILLIANCE!
— ICC (@ICC) July 10, 2019
What happened was Lockie Ferguson bowled a bouncer to MS Dhoni, and he saw an opportunity to run through for the second, Bhuvneshwar Kumar was the non-striker, and India required another 25 out off 11 balls. Dhoni smashed the first ball of the penultimate over for a six and this creates a glimpse of hope for India. Despite, New Zealand’s best fielder Guptill was at the right place at the right time.
Guptill has had a mundane tournament with the bat. However, he was able to get his throw right when he had only one stump to aim at. However, Guptill also acknowledged that he had the rub of the green on his side.
"Lucky enough to get a direct hit from out there" – New Zealand's @Martyguptill on his ⚡ ️throw to dismiss MS Dhoni in the #CWC19 semi-final against India. #BackTheBlackCaps pic.twitter.com/GnerDahQgQ
— ICC (@ICC) July 11, 2019
“I thought that the ball was not coming to me. I tried to get to the ball as quick as I could and luckily I was able to hit the stumps from there”, Martin Guptill said on ICC Twitter handle.